Preconference Abstracts

Submit your abstracts by Feb. 1 for the Political Geography Specialty Group’s 30th annual Preconference at Harvard University. Our gathering this year will be on April 4, 2017 (a Tuesday) and is hosted and supported by Harvard’s Center for Geographic Analysis, the Institute for Quantitative Social Science, and the Department of Government.

Abstracts of 250 words or less should be submitted to and are best submitted as attachments in MS Word. That document should also include your name, department, institutional affiliation, and e-mail address as you want those items listed in the program. This year we welcome both paper and POSTER presentations so please clarify in your abstract document (as well as your submission e-mail subject line) the type of presentation for which you would like to be scheduled.

For additional details and inquiries:
or e-mail:

You may also contact organizers individually:
Natalie Koch, PGSG President <>
Kenneth Madsen, PGSG Secretary/Treasurer <>

Please do not contact local hosts.

Achievement Awards (non-student)

Nominations are also currently being solicited for the following awards.

* Julian Minghi Distinguished Book Award
* Virginie Mamadouh Outstanding Research Award
* Stanley D. Brunn Young Scholar Award
* Richard Morrill Public Outreach Award

The deadline for the Julian Minghi Distinguished Book Award is Jan. 15 (this coming Sunday!); all other deadlines are Feb. 15.

For additional details:

Submit nominations to: Natalie Koch, PGSG President <>

Student Awards

PGSG’s student members are invited to apply for:

* Alexander B. Murphy Dissertation Enhancement Award
* PGSG Student Paper Awards: (a) Undergraduate; (b) Master’s; (c) PhD

The deadline for both of these awards is Feb. 15.

For additional details:

Applicants should submit to the appropriate committee members as listed on the Student Awards page.