Minutes of the Political Geography Specialty Group Business Meeting

Washington Marriott Woodley Park, Saturday, April 17, 2010

PGSG President Jason Dittmer called the meeting to order at 6:35 pm.

Heppen moved to approve the minutes from last year's business meeting in Las Vegas. Approved by acclamation.

Dittmer reported on the PGSG pre-conference. Pre-conference was held at Virginia Tech-Alexandria campus and was hosted by Gerard Toal and Gerry Kearns. Praise was given to Mat Coleman for putting the program together. Pre-conference was an enormous success. It had the largest attendance ever, with 50-55 attending at least part of the two-day conference. GEOPOL 2010, organized by Toal and Kearns, was also very successful. Large attendance at these pre-AAG events are a testament to the health of the subdiscipline.

Student Awards: Dittmer announced the winners of the PhD and MA student paper competitions. <u>PhD</u>: Kyle Walker, UMN (first place); Sandra Zupan, UW-Milwaukee (second); Joomi Lee, UT-Austin (third). <u>MA/MS</u> Award: Chelsea Hanchett, Penn St. Bob Wattrel announced the winner of the PGSG Dissertation Enhancement Award: Richelle Bernazzoli, U. of Illinois.

Non-student Awards: Dittmer announced the winners of this year's non-student awards. Julian Minghi Outstanding Research Award: Stuart Elden, Durham University. Stanley D. Brunn Young Scholar Award: Alison Mountz, Syracuse University. Richard Morrill Public Outreach Award: Joseph Nevins, Vassar College.

Treasurer's Report: Dittmer delivered the treasurer's report. Condition of PGSG finances is good. Total balance was as low as \$4600 in Aug 09 and was at \$6500 by Feb 10. This reflects large membership of PGSG and sound fiscal management, and is in spite of awarding a greater number of student awards last year.

Elections: Dittmer reported that two members of the board of PGSG were rotating off the board and called an election. He noted the dearth of women on the PGSG board. Nominations from the floor were called for. Nominations for two positions were: Amy Mills, Katrinka Somdahl-Sands, and John Heppen. Fiona Davidson administered the election by secret ballot and reported that Mills and Somdahl-Sands would be the new members of the board.

Dittmer reported on the meeting of specialty group chairs of the AAG. There were 8,200 registrations for the Washington AAG, and 5,677 abstracts were submitted.

The number of sponsorships of sessions by specialty groups ranged from 1 to 104. Dittmer strongly suspects that PGSG was the group with the largest number of sponsored sessions.

New Business:

MA Student Awards: Dittmer noted that Derek Alderman had asked the rules for MA Student Awards, specifically whether the policy of requiring that the research be presented at a conference within the calendar year unfairly disadvantaged new masters students. Shannon O'Lear pointed out that the purpose of the rule was to encourage participation in the conference. After some discussion, it was decided to leave the rule as is.

Pre-conference 2011: Larry Knopp of UW-Tacoma proposed that the preconference for the 2011 AAG Annual Meeting in Seattle be hosted by UW-Tacoma. Given space constraints at the campus, the conference would need to be held at an area hotel. Several names were mentioned as local co-organizers. Two questions were asked to the members present by Knopp. Could the meeting be coorganized by the Sexuality and Space Specialty Group? Could previous organizers with experience serve as consultants? Dittmer pointed out that there had been successfully co-organized pre-conferences in the past with the Development Specialty Group. He suggested further that board members and previous preconference organizers could serve as consultants. After some very brief discussion, Knopp's proposal was accepted by acclamation.

Carl Dahlman proposed shortening the pre-conference or holding concurrent sessions. Pre-conference plus GEOPOL meant a full week of conferencing. Board will take this under advisement.

Fred Shelley asked where social event would be held following the meeting and for award winners to remain to have their pictures taken.

Somdahl-Sands asked if it was allowable for undergraduates to enter the MA student paper competition. Dittmer pointed out that there was no need for this since there was an undergraduate paper competition, even though some years there are no submissions. After some discussion, no action was taken.

Dittmer thanked the members and adjourned the meeting at 7:12 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Corey Johnson, member of PGSG Board