Minutes of the 2013 Political Geography Specialty Group Business Meeting

Grand Ballroom Salon 3, LA Hotel, Los Angeles, California Thursday, April 11, 2013

PGSG President Mat Coleman called the meeting to order at 8:41 PM

Shannon O'lear moved to approve the minutes of last year's business meeting. Approved by acclamation.

Coleman reported on the specialty group presidents' meeting. This is the not largest AAG meeting ever. There were 7300 registered attendees. There were not any other specific proposals that affect the PGSG.

Preconference: Coleman discussed the PGSG preconference at UCLA, hosted by Adam Moore and the Department of Geography. Coleman thanked Adam for all his work getting the preconference off the ground. There were approximately 75 people at the pre-conference, which included 35 papers and a plenary panel in the evening featuring Jo Sharpe, John Agnew, Simon Dalby, Natalie Koch, and Sara Koopman. The quality of the papers was high and there was a good mix of graduate students and faculty.

Coleman suggested that this preconference was successful due to the one day format, hosting it in same city as the main conference, the day before the main conference, and at a strong local department. The Tuesday to Saturday format of the main conference also helped. The membership agreed with the proposal to continue to host the conference in a similar manner in the future. There was not any support for the previous proposal of linking the preconference with the regional conferences.

Coleman also thanked the large number of faculty who are doing work on our committees. Thanks to Steve Radl, Corey Johnson, Bob Watrel, Shannon O'Lear, Gabriel Popescu, Darren Purcell, Helga Leitner, Alec Murphy, Fiona Davidson and Katrinka Samdhal-Sands for all your labors.

Award winners for various PGSG competitions. Anne-Laure Amilhat Szary announced the winners of the travel award: Andrew Linke, Carrie Mott, Meredith Deboom, David Trimbach, Alessandro Tiberio, Kelly Kay, Webb, Zoe Pearson, Priya Vadi and Jared Van Ramshort.

Johnson announced the winners of Political Geography Graduate Student Paper Competition. Master's Category, the winner is Malene Jacobsen of the University of Kentucky for her paper "The Danish Asylum System: What Happened to Humanism?" Doctoral Student Award: Jill Williams of Clark University for her paper "Border Enforcement, the Humanitarian State, and the Scalar Politics of Care."

Gabriel Popescu announced the winner of the PGSG Dissertation Enhancement Award: Craig Jones of the University of British Columbia for "The War Lawyers."

Coleman announced the non-student awards. The Julian Minghi Outstanding Research Award went to Reece Jones, University of Hawai'I, for Border Walls: Security and the War on Terror in the United

States, India, and Israel (Zed Books). The Stanley D. Brunn Young Scholar Award went to Fiona McConnell (Newcastle University) for her excellent scholarship on the Tibetan government in exile. The Richard Morrill Public Outreach Award went to Jeremy Slack, University of Arizona, for his work on migrant detention policy that was featured in many newspaper and television reports.

Treasurers Report: Jones reported that the PGSG spent \$1100 on the preconference. Jones reported that \$2000 spent on new Student Travel Awards drew the balance down to around \$1200.

Regular business:

Coleman proposed increasing dues to \$10 per year for faculty (from \$7). Coleman noted many other large groups already charged that amount. It was passed by acclamation.

Coleman proposed disbanding the nominating committee. The committee had not been active and there were only hazy recollections of why it had been formed originally. It was passed by acclamation.

Vincent Artman raised the issue of the deadline for the undergraduate paper award. There was concern that the June 15 deadline was an odd time. Coleman noted it allows submission of a senior thesis after both the quarter and semester system. Coleman, as chair of committee, will review the issue in the future.

Coleman proposed having a more active blog for the group. He volunteered to form an ad-hoc committee to pursue this issue future.

Coleman noted the recent Coburn amendment that defunds political science research at the NSF. He suggested members monitor the situation and consider developing a position for the group.

Jones reported that at future meetings the group can choose to have a lunch meeting time rather than late night. The proposal passed by acclamation.

Elections. Coleman began by recognizing Matt Mitchelson and Matt Derrick, faculty members of the governing board, who are both rotating off this year. Coleman also thanked the student rep, Jeremy Slack, who is also rotating off this year. Anne-Laure Amilhat Szary and Darren Purcell are now our senior governing board faculty reps.

Coleman stated that two faculty board members and one student board member need to be elected. There were four nominations for the faculty position: Kevin Grove, Katrinka Samdahl-Sands, Kenneth Madsen, and Karen Culcasi. Jason Dittmer and Shannon O'lear counted the ballots and reported that Ken Madsen and Karen Culcasi received the most votes and were appointed to the board. There was one nomination for the student position: Nate Pickett. His nomination was approved by acclamation.

Coleman stated that secretary-treasurer Reece Jones completed his term. Natalie Koch was nominated and approved by acclamation.

Coleman stated that a new president needrd to be elected. Reece Jones was nominated and approved by acclamation.

Coleman thanked the members and adjourned the meeting at 9:35 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Reece Jones, PGSG Secretary-Treasurer