Minutes of the 2014 Political Geography Specialty Group Business Meeting

Room 19, Tampa Convention Center, Tampa, Florida Thursday, April 09, 2014

PGSG President Reece Jones called the meeting to order at 11:51 AM

Darren Purcell moved to approve the minutes of last year's business meeting. Approved by acclamation.

Preconference: Jones discussed the PGSG preconference at USF, hosted by Jayajit Chakrabarty, Pratyusha Bosu and the School of Geosciences. Jones thanked Jayajit and Pratyusha for their work getting the pre-conference off the ground. There were approximately 60 people at the pre-conference, which included 32 papers and a plenary panel on Florida politics featuring Jason Dittmer, Fred Shelley, Susan McManus, and Martin Bosman.

Jones announced that the 2015 preconference will be held at Depaul University in Chicago. Kara Dempsey will act as local coordinator and she discussed the venue and logistics. The membership decided it was best to hold the event at the Lincoln Park Campus.

Jones also thanked the large number of faculty who are doing work on our committees. Thanks to Steve Radl, Corey Johnson, Bob Watrel, Shannon O'Lear, Gabriel Popescu, Darren Purcell, Helga Leitner, Katrinka Samdhal-Sands, and Anne-Laure Amilhat Szary for all your labors.

Elections were held and approved by voice vote for committee openings. Emma Norman and Stephanie Wilbrand joined the Undergrad Student Paper Award; Kara Dempsey and Cindy Sorrensen joined the Student Travel Award; Fiona Davidson joined the Dissertation Research Enhancement Award; and Karen Culcasi joined the MA/PhD Student Paper Award.

Award winners for various PGSG competitions:

Jones announced the non-student award winners:

Julian Minghi Outstanding Research Award: Adam Moore for *Peacebuilding in Practice* Stanley D. Brunn Young Scholar Award: Natalie Koch, Syracuse Richard Morrill Public Outreach Award: Sara Koopman, Wilfred Laurier

Corey Johnson announced the student paper awards:

PhD Student Paper: Ian Rowan, Colorado No MA submissions this year.

Shannon O'Lear announced the Dissertation Enhancement Award winner:

Galen Murton, Colorado

Katrinka Somdahl-Sands announced the Student Travel award winners:

Camilla Hawthorne, Berkeley Meredith DeBoom, Colorado

Jones announced the undergraduate student paper award winner:

Kiersten Strachan, University of Oklahoma

Treasurers Report: Jones reported that the board only awarded two travel awards this year to rebuild the budget. Additionally, the faculty fee was raised to \$10. These are improving the budget situation and Jones anticipates giving more travel awards next year.

Elections. Jones began by recognizing Darren Purcell and Anne-Laure Amilhat Szary, faculty members of the governing board, who are both rotating off this year. Jones also thanked the student rep, Nate Picket, who is also rotating off this year.

Jones stated that two faculty board members and one student board member need to be elected. There were three nominations for the faculty position: Afton Clarke-Sather, Sapana Doshi, and Steve Radil. Kenneth Madsen counted the ballots and reported that Afton Clarke-Sather and Sapana Doshi received the most votes and were appointed to the board. Elyse Gordon was elected as the student member.

Regular Business:

Alec Murphy announced the IGU conference in Eugene, Oregon.

Sara Koopman noted that all male and all female sessions tend to be held at the same time. Suggested working with AAG organizers on the schedule. Jones agreed but noted that the PGSG sponsored 65 sessions so it is difficult to avoid overlap.

Jones raised the issue of whether the Julian Minghi Outstanding Research Award should be changed to a book award because every award was given to a book. After discussion, the membership voted to make the Minghi Award a book award and start a new award for journal article publication. The PGSG board will craft a description and decide the name. There was substantial support at the meeting to name it in honor of Alec Murphy.

Jones raised the issue of awards given to board members. The membership was unanimous that board members should be eligible because 1) they represent active young scholars and 2) denying board members the opportunity would discourage leading scholars from serving on the board.

Jones thanked the members and adjourned the meeting at 12:34 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Reece Jones, PGSG President (with help from Corey Johnson)